Weekly Update – 5/31/11

Normally this would be on Sunday but I was in NYC for the whole weekend! And it was FLEET WEEK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Lots of sailors around, cheap drinks and the Blue Angels were practicing their tricks.

I have friends from far away (calling them Sunshine friends) who wanted to go to NYC with me so my other friend (Lets call him Alcoholic) decided to meet them their. It was a crazy long trip but we finally got their and met them at this apartment we were renting. Its this thing where you rent someones apartment for a short period of time and they just go somewhere else. The site is http://www.airbnb.com/ is you’re interested but it was really cheap and the apartment was furnished and pretty sweet.

Anyway, we spent the first night going to a Broadway play cause that’s what you do in NYC and that’s what my Sunshine friends wanted to do. I really really wanted to see the South Park guys’ musical, The Book of Mormon, but it was completely sold out and the Sunshines weren’t willing to show some cleavage.

So we went to see Jerusalem, which is this crazy play that involves an alcoholic ex-dare devil who gives all the local kids alcohol in the woods but he’s being evicted and a girl is missing. Its basically ridiculously long and the main actor, Mark Rylance, is phenomenal. Its good in its own right but I’m not sure I recommend it… I’m not really a Broadway kind of person and the only thing I can say is that I’m glad its not a musical.

It was pretty much exactly what it looks like...

Then we ate out a lot and drank… a lot. Alcoholic was especially intent on the last part. I had to drag him home both nights and he is kind of a heavy dude probably his developing beer belly. I mostly stick to hard alcohol myself though it hasn’t always been conducive to good decisions or remembering anything the next day. Its how you have to roll when you’re young… not that I think everyone has to or should drink. Its everyone’s choice and its nice to have the DD friend anyway who drags my sorry ass home.

That’s pretty much what I did this weekend… ah and I just got back from a baseball game. Not gonna say who but the team I was rooting for lost and I’m kind of pissed. Not the best umping I’ve ever seen and I’m a little sick of shitty pitchers being replaced by even worse ones. We were doing so well too…

So I’ll write something else tomorrow. I’m not sure if I want to just start on a Tuesday and write what I’ve planned for those or write Monday’s topic. Lets see which one comes out more interesting!

Leave a Reply

