Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood

Out for a mid-morning stabbing, are we?

This game came out like a year ago and since the new one is coming out soon (with the same character… sigh) I figured I would review it. And I’m poor and cannot afford a new game/am saving up for Gears of War 3 and Dead Island.

There really is nothing better than zombies.

But anyway, I love the Assassin’s Creed games but Ezio has always been a bit of a sore spot for me. He’s like wicked noticeable as an assassin… he wears like frills and blends in with absolutely no one. Altair may have been kind of boring but he was badass. He just stabbed you in the fucking face and that was the end of it. Ezio runs around and deals with politics and things that aren’t killing people. I suppose it does make a better storyline and a more complex environment. But the title has Assassin in it, not politician. Altair just kills people on the death list and then kills the dude who betrayed him. That was all. Ezio’s a fucking queen.

Though he does grow a rockin' beard.

About the actual game: gameplay is the same but with more add ons and more moves which are, obviously, awesome. Riding is different. You can jump off your horse onto another one or onto a building and assassinate someone directly off its back. But you can’t…er sprint your horse. The button that did it before (A on the Xbox360) now makes you stand up on the horse so its slower. Desmond gets the actual plot development and the Scooby Gang is still kind of annoying.

Lots of hijinks occur.

The most significant update is the assassin recruitment option. You can save various people from soldiers and they offer themselves to you (some are massive assholes and others are inexplicably blonde) and you can train them to send them off on their own missions. It is not even close as exciting as it sounds. You use like a drop down menu to send them on missions and it reminds me of the Text Adventure games where all you got from it was words.

I can definitely see why I paid $60 for this game.

On the bright side, you can call them to help you in fights later but it feels kind of like cheating since they just kill the enemy automatically. Apparently if they aren’t well trained, they can die but I started sending them out immediately and I didn’t have one die (well except for the one I purposefully sent on a mission much too difficult for him. Asshole). Not my favorite part of the game and I was a little disappointed by it.

Apparently, I also bought this game to watch other people having fun.

Overall grade: B+ (mostly because I expected it to be so much better)

Next Game= Oblivion: The Elder Scrolls IV

Time to replay!

Leave a Reply

